Rules compared · checked October 2026
House rules, side by side
“Clothing-optional” is about the only thing these resorts have in common. Who gets in, where nudity stops, whether outsiders can visit and what is added to the bill all vary, and those rules decide whether a booking fits.
Compiled by the Hotel Terracotta editorial desk from each resort’s published policies · Edited by John Dason · Checked October 15–27, 2026 · How we work
Quick answer
How the rules sort the Palm Springs resorts
Santiago, Descanso and Twin Palms, three sister resorts, admit gay men from 18, keep nudity to the pool and spa, sell no day passes and add a $24 daily fee. The smaller inns in and around Warm Sands are also for gay men; their nudity rules range from the pools only to the whole property, and few publish a policy on visitors. CCBC, Casa Oliver, Hotel O2, Exotic Dreams and Sea Mountain set the minimum age at 21 and sell passes to non-guests. Only two places require nudity in the water: Sea Mountain, a lifestyle resort for couples and women, and Glen Eden, a family nudist club that runs a background check before a first visit.
11 properties
Gay men’s resorts in Palm Springs and Cathedral City
| Resort | Who gets in | Where clothing is optional | Day visitors | Charges outside the room rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Santiago Resort | Gay men, 18+ | Pool and spa | None | $24 a day plus 12.7% room tax |
| Descanso Resort | Gay men, 18+ | Pool and spa | None | $24 a day plus 12.7% room tax |
| Twin Palms Resort | Gay men, 18+ | Pool and spa | None | $24 a day plus 12.7% room tax |
| The Hacienda at Warm Sands | Gay men; adults only | Pools, spa and patios | None published | Service charge instead of tips |
| Vista Grande Resort | Gay men, 18+ | Clothing-optional resort | Invited visitors only, $30 a day | None published |
| El Mirasol Villas | Gay men; age not published | Pools | None published | None published |
| INNdulge | Gay men; age not published | Clothing-optional resort | None published | None published |
| Triangle Inn | Gay men; age not published | Throughout the property | None published | None published |
| Desert Paradise Resort | 18+; FAQ says LGBTQIA adults, marketing says gay men | Throughout the property | $30, 10 am–6 pm, booked by phone or email | $18 daily resort fee |
| Casa Oliver | Gay men, 21+ | Clothing-optional resort | Day passes $15–35; night passes | None published |
| CCBC Resort Hotel | Gay men, 21+; physical photo ID | Clothing-optional resort | Eight hours, $22–45 | None published |
“None published” means the resort’s own site did not state the policy or fee when we checked. It does not prove there is none.
5 properties
Couples, women, mixed adults and naturists
Exotic Dreams is in Warm Sands. Mi Kasa, Hotel O2 and Sea Mountain are in Desert Hot Springs, roughly 20 minutes north. Glen Eden is about 75 road miles west in Temescal Valley, a separate trip rather than a Palm Springs add-on.
| Resort | Who gets in | Where clothing is optional | Day visitors | Charges outside the room rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mi Kasa Hot Springs | 21+; couples, singles, friends | Clothing-optional; not a swingers’ property | Day pass, 9 am–10 pm, single entry | None published |
| Hotel O2 | 21+ with photo ID | Outdoor pool areas; cover-ups indoors | Couples $80–100; online only, nonrefundable | None published |
| Exotic Dreams Resort | 21+; couples, single women, single men (sponsor Fri–Sun) | Clothing-optional pools; lifestyle resort | $120 couple · $60 woman · $100 man | None published |
| Sea Mountain Inn | 21+; couples and single women (pages differ) | Nude in pool and whirlpools; lifestyle resort | From $99 a couple or $79 a woman, lunch included | $20 membership per person; two-night weekend minimum |
| Glen Eden Sun Club | Families and couples; singles policy not published | Nude in pools and hot tubs | First visit by booked tour, $23 | $20 background check before a first visit |
“None published” means the resort’s own site did not state the fee when we checked.
Read the clothing line closely
Four different nudity rules
Resorts use the same two words for policies that play out very differently on the ground. The glossary defines each term.
- Optional at the pool only. Santiago, Descanso and Twin Palms say swimsuits are optional at the pool and spa. The Hacienda extends that to its patios. Expect to dress away from those areas.
- Optional throughout. Triangle Inn and Desert Paradise say clothing is optional anywhere on the property, which suits guests who would rather not change every time they leave the pool.
- Outdoors only. Hotel O2 allows nudity in the outdoor pool areas and asks for cover-ups indoors.
- Required in the water. Glen Eden and Sea Mountain expect guests to be nude in the pools and hot tubs. A first-timer who wants to keep a swimsuit on should choose somewhere else.
None of this tells you the atmosphere. Exotic Dreams and Sea Mountain are lifestyle resorts. Mi Kasa states it is not a swingers’ property, and Glen Eden is a family club. The first-timer guide explains how to read that difference before booking.
Beyond the nightly rate
The charges that change the math
The extra charges are small per night but add up over a long weekend. Take three nights for two people:
- Santiago, Descanso or Twin Palms: at least $72 in daily fees on top of the room and the 12.7% room tax. The resort does not say whether the $24 is charged per room or per guest, so ask. The fee covers breakfast, a poolside lunch, the cantina, bikes and parking, so it replaces costs you would pay elsewhere.
- Desert Paradise: $54 in resort fees, added per reservation, with continental breakfast included.
- Sea Mountain: $40 in memberships for a couple, and a two-night minimum on weekends.
- The Hacienda: a service charge in place of tips. The resort does not publish the rate on its site, so ask when you request a quote.
Day passes are easier to compare per person. Casa Oliver runs $15–35 and CCBC $22–45. Desert Paradise charges $30, as does Vista Grande, though only for visitors a guest invites. Hotel O2’s $80–100 couples’ pass works out to $40–50 each. The Sea Mountain couples’ pass starts at about $50 each with lunch included, and Exotic Dreams charges $60 each for a couple. The day-pass guide has hours and current links.
Read before paying
Cancellation terms vary by more than price
- CCBC: no refunds. Cancel 14 or more days out and you get a credit.
- Desert Paradise: the full stay is charged for cancellations inside 14 days.
- Sea Mountain: a $100-per-night fee at any time, and the full amount inside seven days.
- The Hacienda: 14 days’ notice, or 30 for holidays and events.
- Triangle Inn: free 30 or more days out, $50 at 8–30 days, one night inside a week.
- Hotel O2 day passes: nonrefundable.
For the other resorts, cancellation terms appear at booking. Check them on the confirmation page rather than assuming a standard hotel policy.
Open questions
What the published sources don’t settle
- Triangle Inn, El Mirasol and INNdulge do not publish a minimum age.
- Desert Paradise’s FAQ welcomes LGBTQIA men, women and trans guests, while its home page markets the resort to gay men.
- Sea Mountain’s pages disagree on whether single women can stay or only visit.
- Glen Eden does not publish a policy for single visitors.
- Day-visitor policies for The Hacienda, El Mirasol, INNdulge and Triangle Inn are not on their sites. Treat these as guest-only unless the resort tells you otherwise.
Each resort’s profile links to the pages we checked. Rules change, so confirm anything that matters to you directly with the resort.
Questions
Which resorts near Palm Springs require nudity?
Two. Glen Eden Sun Club requires nudity in its pools and hot tubs, and Sea Mountain Inn requires it in the pool and whirlpools. Everywhere else in this comparison, nudity is optional, and at Hotel O2 it stops at the outdoor pool areas.
Can I stay at a Palm Springs clothing-optional resort if I am under 21?
Some resorts set the minimum at 18: Santiago, Descanso, Twin Palms, Vista Grande and Desert Paradise. CCBC, Casa Oliver, Mi Kasa, Hotel O2, Exotic Dreams and Sea Mountain require guests to be 21. Triangle Inn, El Mirasol and INNdulge do not publish a minimum, so ask before booking.
Which resorts charge fees on top of the room rate?
Santiago, Descanso and Twin Palms add $24 a day. Desert Paradise adds an $18 daily resort fee. Sea Mountain requires a $20 membership per person, and The Hacienda adds a service charge instead of expecting tips. Glen Eden charges $20 for the background check before a first visit.